Miscellaneous updatery

(this may be ported from LJ to FB if things work as expected)

Thanks to the kindness of many, I’ve received a fair number of leads on potential jobs, which I am following up in a steady and methodical manner.

In other news, I think I’ve got the unemployment situation sorted. As it turns out, because it was less than a year ago that I filed last, I still have benefit weeks available from Michigan, so I had to re-open my claim there. What a difference a few months make: I was able to do so online, including updating address, and via an automated phone system (updating direct deposit info), without having to once speak with one of the surly humans who populate the Michigan UIC offices.

Lest you think I’m down on government employees, no: the young man I spoke with at the Texas unemployment commission was very polite, considerate, and answered my questions in a way that completely dispelled my confusion about how the different state systems interact (the short version: it’s a federal system administered in individual states, so there is cross-communication between states), plus informed me that once my remaining 16 weeks of eligibility in MI run out, I would THEN be eligible to file in Texas. I am sincerely hoping it doesn’t come to that, but it is nice to know it’s there.

Also, I’ve been told that there’s some sort of stimulus-package deal that subsidizes COBRA health insurance benefits, which I may take advantage of. One of the problems with COBRA, as many of you know, is that the unemployed ex-employee has to eat the ENTIRE cost of the continued insurance, which is often stupidly expensive (example: continuing my GM coverage on COBRA would have cost me more per month than paying the office visit and brand-name prescription refills 100% out of pocket would have cost). I’ll have to see what it ends up costing, but if it’s reasonable, I’ll probably keep it. I have 3 months of "free" insurance continuation from BHI anyway, not that it really matters as I haven’t even started using up my deductible, though if I can’t get my HCRA money out and returned to me, I will go ahead and use it so as to not toss that $1000 or so in the HCRA away.

And on yet another front, well, I get by with a little help from my friends. The amount of support I’ve been receiving is astonishing and I greatly appreciate every single one of you who has taken the time to drop me a note, a comment here, a post on FB, or just sent positive thoughts to the deity of your choice or in my general direction. I just hope I’m able to pay back/pay forward the karmic debt I’m incurring. Thank you all.

7 thoughts on “Miscellaneous updatery

  1. cdozo

    In Texas, if you end up switching to an individual policy, the insurer doesn’t have to cover anything you’ve been treated for in the recent past. And, as far as I can tell, the “pre-existing condition,” and anything possibly related to it, will remain uncovered by them forever and ever. So you might want to look around for some sort of group you can get coverage through, just in case.

    Reply
    1. autojim Post author

      If I do the subsidized COBRA thing, it’s continuation of my existing group coverage. Of course, I just got word that the HCRA can only be used for reimbursable charges made prior to date of layoff, unless I pony up another $133.33 out-of-pocket to keep it going for another month. Which annoys the hell out of me. What I really want is to get the money back (yes, taxed) so I can use it for stuff I need to use it for as an unemployed person, not run out and incur a bunch of charges out-of-pocket and hope they’re reimbursed.

      Reply
      1. cdozo

        It’s after my COBRA ended that we ended up on an individual policy with the pre-existing condition problem.

  2. lee_martindale

    Let me know if you need additional job hunting options. Hubby has recruiter contacts that he thinks very well of, and is willing to share.

    Reply
  3. maryosmanski

    It does sound like you have matters very well in hand for now and some time to explore employment possibilities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

