It wasn’t as big a gap as the last one…

I said "try", FF. Not "succeed", but "try". There is a difference.

Been pulling longish days at work partly because I get going on something and don’t like to stop, and partly because there’s not exactly a huge inducement to rush home. Well, the next two weeks are going to be a bit different as I have a lot of house prep to do on the off chance that my friends M and J come from Michigan for the upcoming Houston date on the SCCA Solo National Tour calendar. They were, then they weren’t, now they might.

So I have to finish the living room, the 2nd bathroom, and the front bedroom. I am very good at not doing anything for hours on end, so it’s going to require some motivation on my part, but that’s as may be.

Yesterday I got out on the bicycle for a bit. I did about 5 miles, but it was the 1/2 mile of grass that killed me — the extra drag from the St. Augustine grass common here was Just Enough to bring the pain. I’m out of shape, I’ll admit it, and have quite a bit of training to do before tackling one of the group rides the local bike shop hosts.

The ’65 is safely in my garage. The ’99 is currently in the trailer on race tires. Scooter is a good bird.

My oven still sucks.

And the house will be fit for company in a couple weeks.

9 thoughts on “It wasn’t as big a gap as the last one…

  1. maryosmanski

    It’s good to see a post from you. I was just saying to Steve yesterday that I was getting a little concerned that I hadn’t seen you here or at sff.net in what felt like a long time. Btw, just so you know, my recovery from the surgery is apparently going very well. Chemo begins this coming Wednesday.

    Reply
    1. autojim Post author

      Good to hear, Mary. May the chemo do its thing with minimal side effects. I’m just out of hours in the day to cover everything as I did for a while. Hoping things will settle eventually.

      Reply
    1. autojim Post author

      The ’65 hasn’t moved under its own power in over 13 years. Keeping the tires warm is the least of the issues I need to address on that car. πŸ˜€

      Reply
      1. neutronjockey

        It’s okay, I’ll settle for sitting in it and sniffing the ol’ antique car smell. Oh…ohh, old car smell + antique book smell… a ’65 full of 200 year old books. I’ll brb, I need a moment alone.

  2. fakefrenchie

    OK, I’ll give you “try to do” and “do” are two different things entirely. I’m glad to see you phosphers. I suspect you are cheating on LJ with you Facebook/My Space account. tsk tsk tsk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

