If it’s Wednesday, it must still be Houston

I am logged on from my own network. Sort of. I spent more than 2 hours on the phone with AT&T again today, attempting to sort out why it is that I cannot pull my existing sbcglobal.net address from K’s phone number in Michigan to my phone number here in Texas and the short version is that AT&T makes this impossible unless K cancels her DSL service and restarts it from scratch, creating her own address in the process. As this will involve K being without ‘net access for anywhere from 2 to 5 days, this is unacceptable.

Result: I created another new address today.

And I can’t get this laptop to "see" the DSL modem/router so I can tweak the wireless settings and suchwhat to my liking. I’ll have the big computer up tomorrow and see what I can do then.

Seriously, the most competent AT&T employee I’ve dealt with in the last 48 hours was the technician who came to the house today to verify the line is up and hooked correctly. The other 18 people, particularly the three who hung up on me? Should be attempting to collect unemployment after being fired-for-cause.

Other than that, pretty slow day. I did have to go buy dishwasher detergent after discovering I had none, so I ran the pantry door’s wire racks through two cycles. Meanwhile, I used my trusty Mr. Clean Magic Eraser on the pantry door and shelves.

I got the master bathroom clean last night. Ho boy, did I ever. πŸ™‚ With exhaust fan at full cry, I used (not all at once) Scrubbing Bubbles foaming soap scum shower cleaner, Tilex soap scum remover, regular Tilex mold & mildew remover, and the aforementioned Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. The shower in particular was a challenge but is now clean to my standard except for some residual soap residue on the glass. It felt great to take a shower in a clean shower stall this morning.

I ran bleach-water through the jetted tub systems. No telling what was in there. The bleach should’ve killed off anything nasty.

I also used a Swiffer WetJet on the floors where major (read: immobile once placed) furniture and appliances are going. It worked well. House smells nice and clean.

Movers arrive early tomorrow morning and then I get busy unpacking and setting up stuff (first: bed, second: electronics, third: clothes, fourth: kitchen)

I’m ready to have my stuff back. To be able to sit on something besides the floor will be great. πŸ™‚ To have a TV to watch will also be good. To have cold food and beverages will also be a plus.

5 thoughts on “If it’s Wednesday, it must still be Houston

  1. fakefrenchie

    Could you come to France to clean my house? No? I’m such a bad housecleaner. My mother is so ashamed. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
      1. maryosmanski

        LeMans is noted for two things (at least in my experience): the car racing and the patisseries (pastry shops). You could be in real trouble there, Jim.

      2. autojim Post author

        You hit the patisseries to fuel up for the 24 Heurs du Mans… which is on my list of Races to Work Before I Die.

      3. fakefrenchie

        No. I used to live in Normandy (Rouen) but now I’m far away from LaMans. I’m closer to Spy (spie?) in Belgium.

Leave a Reply

