Truck update

Got the call from the dealer about 12:15: Truck is ready. They got the transmission first thing this morning, and since the old one was already out, relatively simple matter to put the new one in, replace the cooler (old one full of torque converter bits, I’m sure), flush the cooler lines (same reason), top off the fluids, and ta-da! Ready to go.

Now I just gotta figure out how I’m going to get there. And then pay for it all. Heh.

ETA: OUCH! Total is more than I thought it would be. Curses, labor charges foil me again!

Ah, well, still close to $2K less than I thought I was going to have to spend to get a bulletproof transmission.

3 thoughts on “Truck update

  1. berry_k

    Yeah, pay for it. Reminds me of when the Passat engine (the flaky 1.8T, of course) died on Donner Pass. THAT was expensive; both the tow into Reno and the new engine. At least we’re set with a new engine warranty for another 5 years or so.

    Reply
    1. autojim Post author

      Supposedly, this transmission has an unlimited warranty, though I’ve also seen 3 years/75K miles. My friend who was involved with this particular program says it’s bulletproof, and if it’s Godzilla-approved, it must be so. I’m just glad I didn’t have to pay for a tow. Well, too much. I’m going to fill up M’s truck before I return it.

      Reply
  2. tawnysea

    Well, expensive is never much fun, unless we’re talking about dinner in a nice restaurant or something… but congratulations on getting her back up and running again! I’d say something here about how annoying car troubles can be, but I think I’d be preaching to the choir a bit. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

