Friday Meme-age

Snurched from

,

, and others:

The Challenge:

Post 3 things you’ve done in your lifetime that you don’t think anybody else on your friends list has done. See if anybody else responds with “I’ve done that.” If they have, you need to add another!(2.b., 2.c., etc…) Have your friends cut & paste this into their journal to see what unique things they’ve done in their life.

I have:

1) Had two technical articles, one on the wonders of Rain-X, the other on the value of having a working thermostat, in the “Early Bird”, the magazine of the Classic Thunderbird Club International.

2) Received a driving lesson on a test track from Sir John Young “Jackie” Stewart, 3-time World Driving Champion.

3) Competed in (and completed!) the One Lap of America (in 2005, co-driving the Mercedes pictured above).

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Meme-age

    1. autojim Post author

      Ooh… a Sterling. ๐Ÿ™‚ Is that on a VW chassis or a Porsche 914 chassis? My former co-driver now has a Factory Five (Don’t Call It A Cobra ‘Cause Shelby Will Sue) Roadster set up for the NASA Factory Five spec series. Basically use a Fox-body Mustang (’79-’93) GT as a donor car for most of the mechanicals. A couple other friends of mine have built or are building Factory Fives, too. Larry Dixon has a half-finished Sebring (what the Sterling morphed into) mutant in one of the garages as High Flight. By “mutant”, I mean it’s apparently a kit for a 914 chassis that was built on a VW chassis, and the last time I looked at it, fixing it would’ve been a full-time job. Misty Lackey has a VW-based kit that slightly resembles a Bugatti Type 35. Larry reacts to shiny things like the parrots he and Misty keep, but he’s not exactly Mr. Mechanic by his own admission. He did at least hire someone to work on the Pantera, though something tells me I may yet see that car up here where I can arrange suitable ministrations. If I still lived in OK, I suspect I’d already be working on at least one of the High Flight fleet of interesting vehicles…

      Reply
      1. scarlettina

        Steve’s car is a on a VW chassis. I should point him over here; he can tell you far more about it than I can. You can read this page, which is an HTML rendering of a PDF newsletter for which he was interviewed about the car (it’s not terribly informative, but it’s a start anyway). It will look blank, but if you scroll down to page 2, you’ll see the interview. In the meanwhile, I’ll point him over here. I’d always had the impression that Larry liked the shiny, but I didn’t realize he was that way with cars. I’m not surprised to hear that he’s not exactly Mr. Handy. He’s good at other things, which is probably just as well. Me, I’m an interested spectator. My car’s a 2004 Ford Focus. It’s red and has a sun roof. OooooOOoooh. ::grin:: My passions lie elsewhere though having a car enthusiast for a brother has given me a finer appreciation for cars than I would have otherwise had.

      2. autojim Post author

        Yes, Larry is quite good at the art stuff. And he does know how to work with wood — that’s the art thing again. Because he’s gone heavily digital in his art, he’s gotten quite good with ‘puter stuff from the “superuser” standpoint. But he’s not the best with a wrench. ๐Ÿ™‚ THANKFULLY he is also smart enough to recognize it, though my observation is that he’s better than he thinks he is. Make sure Steve announces his arrival so we can wave hello in his general direction. ๐Ÿ™‚ K drives an ’01 Focus ZX3. No sunroof. But she loves it.

Leave a Reply

