Tuesday Is Meeting Day!

6:00am – 7:00am: Hybrid Powertrain Integration Team meeting/conference call with Japan (Troy)

7:00am – 8:00am: Program Management meeting/conference call with Japan (Troy)

Here begins the Dealer’s Choice portion of the schedule:
8:00am – 9:00am: Build Readiness Team process training (this week only) (Troy)
8:00am – 10:00am: Passenger Compartment Integration Team meeting (Warren)
9:00am – 11:00am: MGU Product Development Team meeting (Troy)
9:00am – 11:00am: Build Readiness Team meeting (Troy)
10:00am – 12:00pm: Underbody Compartment Integration Team meeting (Warren)

12:00pm – 2:00pm: Rear Compartment Integration Team meeting (Warren)

4:00pm – 4:30pm: quick meeting with battery pack engineer regarding one of my programs (Troy)
4:00pm – 6:00pm: Hybrid Electric Drivetrain Product Development Team meeting (Troy)

Today, the Dealer’s Choice was:

8-9 BRT process training
9-11 MGU PDT (which ran over until about 11:20)

Troy is where my office is located. Warren is the Warren Technical Center in (duh!) Warren, which is about 6 driving miles away. Parking in Warren involves walking about 1/2 mile from parking lot to building and into building depths to conference room(s).

Major personal accomplishment: managed to have enough time after the 12-2 meeting to fill Leviathan up with the cheapest diesel I’ve found on my regular driving path ($4.299/US gallon) before getting back to the office for the 4pm meeting.

I actually sat at my own desk from about 2:50pm to 4:30pm. While the furniture isn’t anything to write home about, my desk is where my laptop’s docking station and ergonomic keyboard are. It was a 3-Motrin evening thanks to the wrist crunchies using the laptop’s built-in keyboard all day aggravated. As it happened, my office was the best-air-conditioned place in our end of the building today, so I had a steady stream of visitors during the brief time at the desk.

“My” office is a room I share with 3 other engineers, one work table, one white board, and two huge picture windows, one of which my desk faces. I work, therefore, in a fishbowl. At least I can look through the window, the identical window on the office across the hall, and out the outside window to the outside world.

Today was not a good day to be *in* the office: it was mostly sunny and in the low 70s. If they ever get the wireless network working at the office, we’ll all be outside. We all have laptops and cell phones instead of desktops and desk phones. You want me to be in constant communication? Ha! I laugh at your request and engineer whilst sitting on the lawn out front!

Well, if they ever get the wireless working. They’ve been telling the office residents “2 months!” for 2 or 3 years now. 🙂

One thought on “Tuesday Is Meeting Day!

Leave a Reply

