Must. Resist. Urge. To. Fanboy.

One of K’s classmates gave us a pair of tickets to see the Dalai Lama in Ann Arbor Sunday morning, part of a short series of lectures he is giving this weekend.

Now, while I’m not about to get all Richard Gere on you, good readers and F-listers, one must know that I consider the Dalai Lama to be one of the best thinkers currently breathing on this or any other planet, and he’s easily in my Top Ten Thinkers of All Time. Every interview I’ve ever seen or read with the man, and what of his books I’ve gotten through so far (I’ve been tackling one that deals with the intersection of spirituality and quantum physics for months now; it’s sufficiently deep that I am rereading passages 3+ times before I can wrap my brain around them satisfactorily. Those of you who know me know that I don’t say this even remotely lightly) gives me every reason to think this is a guy I’d love to go on a road trip with, or just hang around a garage or workshop, and that he’d get every bit as much out of said experience as I would.

Add in the circumstances of his life and times, realize that he is, even after getting chased out of his own home, capable of smiling, laughing, and all-around enjoying the daylights out of life, organizing a government-in-exile, maintaining his dedication to non-violence, and of course his continuous commitment to learning, and, well, here’s a hero for our (or any other) time.

I am SO looking forward to this.

8 thoughts on “Must. Resist. Urge. To. Fanboy.

  1. neutronjockey

    You certainly have my permission to cut loose your inner-squeelie-fan-girl. I know I would. I’ve never been fannish for movie/music/tv stars. But give me an academic discussion or a thought-provoking mind— and I’m your beyotch.

    Reply
    1. autojim Post author

      Heh. I’m aiming for politely appreciative. And I hope to learn something, which is very much the point of the exercise.

      Reply
  2. galeni

    I got to be in the smallish venue when my university gave him, Archibishop Tutu and Dr. Ebadi (she’s from Iran, as I recall) honorary degrees. He’s wonderful. He’s given talks here in Vancouver a few times. Enjoy!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

