Update

Tired. Haven’t forgotten about here, but the work week got hairy (sample dialog):

Me, to uberBoss (director): “T–, if you need to ask me about anything today, please preface the question with what program it’s about, otherwise, you may not get the right answer.”

uberBoss: “How many do you have going today?”

Me: “Four, but it’s only 9 am. I’m going back up to my desk to open up a 5th project needing my attention.”

uberBoss just laughed at that…

That was Wednesday. Thursday was looking better until about 4:15 pm, when I was asked to pull off the impossible by one of our customers. Thanks to the magic of cell phones and some skilled negotiations by our sales guy, we had turned impossible into merely improbable by a bit after 6 pm. Then, Friday morning, the customer changed what they wanted. Twice. With just enough lag time that we’d started on the initial request when the first change hit, and then enough time between the changes to have started on the first change when the second change came down. But the parts were done on time.

Our department’s unofficial motto is “Difficult projects today. Impossible projects tomorrow.”

This morning, I frightened the hell out of my massage therapist, who was reasonably sure she’d never encountered someone as bound up as I was. All tension. Thanks to her rather aggressive ministrations, I’m much better now.

The trip report will continue, I just have to get a few more moments of coherence than I have available right now.

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. fakefrenchie

    Do you really need customers like that? Do they pay your company EXTREMELY WELL for pulling crap like that? If one of my clients did that, the next time they sent me a text, I would seriously ask them if they were SURE this time! Customers can sometimes be such JERKS!

    Reply
    1. autojim Post author

      Do you really need customers like that? Do they pay your company EXTREMELY WELL for pulling crap like that? If one of my clients did that, the next time they sent me a text, I would seriously ask them if they were SURE this time! Customers can sometimes be such JERKS! In order: Yes. Potential production business is deep into 8 digit annual revenue territory. They pay us enough for prototypes that it’s worth our while. This isn’t a translation of a text, it’s a reasonably complicated, designed-to-specification engine component. Changes are just part of the prototype process. What got me on this one was not the relatively minor change to the part we were dealing with, but the rapid-fire changes in how they wanted to receive said tweaked parts. This isn’t so much a situation where there’s incompetence, but rather a lack of prior experience at work. The customer folks are smart people, they just haven’t done this kind of thing before. That’s fixable.

      Reply
      1. fakefrenchie

        Oh well in that case, I guess it works. Glad it’s not incompentence. My So is working for a company now that changes its plan every third minute and usually because someone upstream didn’t do their job.

      2. autojim Post author

        Oh, I’ve had ’em like that, too. Meanwhile, the headaches persist… I’ve never knowingly had a migrane, but I have to wonder if what I’m having is one. Lovely. Something else out of whack.

Leave a Reply

